Thursday, October 4, 2012

Flagg Grove Fan Ribbon Cutting Great Success

Fans from all over gathered for the official Fan Ribbon Cutting of Flagg Grove School.
What a fantastic time we had Friday evening at the West Tennessee Delta Heritage Center. Tina Turner fans from all over the world joined us for the Fan's Ribbon Cutting of the Flagg Grove School. We were so honored to welcome Elle Denneman, the president of the International Tina Turner Fan Club, to our event. Elle traveled from Amsterdam, Netherlands, to cut the ribbon and speak to the crowd about how the fan club was formed and how she became a Tina fan.

Elle Denneman, president of the International Tina Turner Fan Club, speaks to fans about Flagg Grove School and Tina.
Other guests included Michael Anthamatten, Muskogee OK., who brought his group of Spotlight Performers to Brownsville to help celebrate the occasion. This was the beginning of a multicultural exchange between Brownsville and Muskogee.
Michael Anthamatten speaks to the crowd at the Ribbon Cutting.

Many fans from Oklahoma joined us, as well as fans from Georgia, Texas, Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee, Minnesota and more.

Thank you to everyone who made this such a special event.
Pam and Joe Stephens shared storied heard about Anna Mae when she was a child living in Nutbush. The Stephens were the generous donors of the school to the Delta Heritage Center. Joe's father bought the land and school, after its closing, in the late 1960s.

Joe Stephens family
Alderman John Simmons and Mayor Jo Matherne poses with Tina Turner Tribute Artist Starr Fisher.
Brownsville Mayor Jo Matherne welcomes fans to Brownsville.

Haywood County Solid Waste Director Clinton Neal, Haywood County Mayor Franklin Smith, Brownsville Radio personality  Jerry Wilson and Chamber of Commerce Ambassador Albert Campbell enjoy the festivities during the Ribbon Cutting.

The crowd gathered outside the Delta Heritage Center to celebrate Flagg Grove School.

Inside the Center, guests enjoyed a reception before the ribbon cutting.

Lots of pictures were taken throughout the event.

Billie Jean Teehee, Spotlight Artist

Millissa Henderson, Spotlight Artist

Dylan Whitney, Hunter Gotcher and Kenedee Rittenhouse, Spotlight Artists

Fans enjoying the celebration.